Gangster Squad: Nothing Special

GangsterI will not deny that I had high hopes for Gangster Squad. I consider Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone two of my favorite actors. Ryan Gosling has never disappointed me in any of his movies, and Emma Stone is simply amazing. Naturally, I was sold on this movie the moment I heard they were both in it. Sadly, the movie did not live up to my expectations.

It had a great cast, and I loved how the film immersed the viewer into the time period, but the development was poor. One of the main things I look for in a movie is a sense of connectivity to the characters on the screen. I want strong character development. If a movie can’t do that, I am disappointed. This was one such film. When a character dies in a movie and I am not moved, that is a sure sign of poor development. Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone did well with what they had. I actually find them flawless in the movie. Their characters, however, sucked.

The story was not too bad. It was a fun gangster movie, but it didn’t really bring anything new to the playing field. At some parts it felt gimmicky, and other parts just seemed off. Even some of the dialogue I found poor and cringe-worthy. I didn’t like this move as much as I would have liked to. I still enjoyed it. I don’t think it is the worst movie I’ve ever seen. I simply wish that it had developed its characters more and that it was a little darker. The film was not as dark or noir as expected. The ending was even pretty lame.

In my honest opinion, save your money. I do not suggest going to the theaters to watch this. Wait until it comes out on DVD/BluRay! It is not a bad movie, as I’ve said, but it isn’t worth the big bucks! Trust me, I wanted to like this film more. However, I just couldn’t. Oh well! Not every movie I see will be awesome!

Therefore, I give this film 4 out of 10 gangsters. When a film executes horrible character development, like this one did, I can’t enjoy it.

Final thought: I’m still a huge fan of Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone. Love them. Why aren’t they dating in real life? C’mon, guys!

And…that’s a wrap!

They should make babies...

They should make babies…

2 thoughts on “Gangster Squad: Nothing Special

  1. Shoot, 4 out of 10! I had higher hopes for this one too. Thanks for the advice on saving the dough. Maybe I’ll use that extra $$ to buy a box of tissues and go see “The Impossible”

Leave a Reply

